Select Page

How to Delete a DoorDash Account

Whether you’re not satisfied with the service or want to try an entirely different food delivery app, if you decide to delete your DoorDash account, you can do so in a few easy steps.

Key Takeaways

  • To delete your DoorDash account, you must use a web browser to log into your account since DoorDash doesn’t allow account deletions on the app.
  • Before deleting your DoorDash account, you can request to download your account data, including your previous transaction history.
  • Once your DoorDash account is deleted, all your account data will be removed from DoorDash, and any credits and gift card balances will be forfeited.

Keep reading to find out how to delete your DoorDash account, including requesting an archive of your account data and transaction history.

How to Delete Your DoorDash Account

To delete your DoorDash account, you’ll need to use a web browser and sign into your account on your computer.

Unfortunately, DoorDash doesn’t allow you to delete your account on the app.

Below are the steps you’ll need to take to remove your personal information and delete your DoorDash account.

1. Go to DoorDash’s Website

To delete your DoorDash account, you must use a web browser and visit their website on your computer.

Go to DoorDash’s website and sign into your account to start the process.

2. Click the Main Menu Icon

You’ll see the “Main Menu” icon (three horizontal lines) on the top left corner next to the DoorDash logo.

Once you click the Main Menu icon, it will expand with additional options, including access to your account settings. 

3. Click “Account”

In the expanded menu, you’ll see a few options, including a link to your account settings page.

Click the “Account” icon to access the page where you can make changes to your account.

4. Click “Manage Account”

On the main account page, DoorDash allows you to update your profile information and make changes to your account.

To delete your DoorDash account, click “Manage Account” on the top right corner of the page.

This will take you to a page where you’ll be presented with two options, one of which is deleting your account.

5. Click “Request Archive”

Once you’re on the “Manage Account” page, you have two options: Request Archive and Delete Account.

While it’s optional, it’s a good idea to request an archive file before deleting your account.

The archived data includes information about your account and previous transaction history.

If you choose this option (highly recommended), DoorDash will prepare the archived file and notify you when it’s ready to download.

6. Delete DoorDash Account

After downloading your account data, the final step is to click the “Delete Account” button to complete the process.

DoorDash uses 2-step verification to confirm account deletions.

You’ll receive a security code via email or text message, which you’ll need to enter to confirm your account deletion.

Note that if you have any pending deliveries, DoorDash doesn’t allow you to delete your account.

In that case, you’ll need to wait until your order is completed and the payment is processed.

Once your DoorDash account is deleted, you’ll not be able to login to your account on the app or the website. In addition, all your account data will be removed from DoorDash, and any credits and gift card balances will be forfeited.

Therefore, make sure to use all your credits and gift card balances before deleting your account.

Also, if you have an active DashPass subscription, you should cancel it before deleting your DoorDash account.

Lastly, DoorDash doesn’t have an easy way to delete an account on the app, but you can follow the above steps on your app (until step #5), and you will be redirected to your mobile browser to complete the account deletion.

Top Reasons to Delete a DoorDash Account

DoorDash is one of the largest delivery services and has extensive availability in most locations in the US. However, there are times when you may need to delete your DoorDash account.

According to several online forums and reviews, the most common reasons people delete their DoorDash account include:

  1. Dissatisfaction with the service
  2. Using a different delivery app
  3. Privacy concerns with online data
  4. High costs
  5. Switching from ordering delivery to pickup or in-restaurant dining

You may have a similar or entirely different issue, but deleting your account is a personal decision that may become necessary.

How to Cancel a DoorDash Account

If you just need to deactivate your DashPass subscription, you don’t need to delete your DoorDash account entirely.

Instead, you can cancel your DashPass subscription at any time on the DoorDash app or website.

Note that you must cancel your subscription at least one day before the next scheduled renewal date to avoid additional charges.

After canceling your DashPass subscription, your membership benefits will be valid through the end of the current billing cycle.

However, if you cancel during the trial period, your benefits will be terminated immediately.

Below are the steps to canceling your DashPass subscription on the DoorDash app.

  1. Open the DoorDash app.
  2. Tap the “Account” icon at the top left corner of the screen.
  3. Tap “Manage DashPass.”
  4. Then, tap “End Subscription.”
  5. On the next screen, confirm by tapping “End Subscription.”

If you’re using a desktop computer, follow the steps below to cancel your DashPass subscription:

  1. Log into your account on DoorDash’s website.
  2. Then, click the “Account” icon at the top left corner of the screen.
  3. Select “Manage DashPass”
  4. Click “End Subscription”
  5. On the next screen, confirm by clicking “End Subscription.”

After completing these steps, DoorDash will send you a notification in the app and a confirmation email that your DashPass subscription has been canceled.

Conclusion

While DoorDash is one of the largest and most widely available food delivery services, you may need to delete your account at some point.

Unfortunately, DoorDash doesn’t allow account deletions directly on the app, but you can follow our guide to delete your account easily on their website.

Note that once your DoorDash account is deleted, you’ll lose access to your account, and all credits and gift card balances will be forfeited. So be sure to use your credits before deleting your account.

In addition, we recommend downloading the archive file before deleting your account, which includes your account information and transaction history.

For more information about DoorDash, check out the articles below.

Was this article helpful?

Last Updated: July 27, 2022

About the Author

Eril Eti is the founder of Shopfood.com and has over a decade of experience in the consumer goods industry. He launched many products for major brands sold at retailers like Walmart, Costco, Amazon, Target, Kroger, Publix, and more.

Eril loves food and sharing his experience with others. Outside of work, you can find him at a hiking trail in New England or playing soccer with his kids.

Recent Articles